Are You Watching Empire? It’s an interesting one…

My roommate has put me onto yet another show and this time its Empire.

But I must admit, I’m a bit skeptical.

Although the Terrance Howard and Taraji P. Henson chemistry is undeniable and the musical element to the show (Timbaland productions) is really urban and refreshing as compared to other musical themed TV, like Glee, something feels off.

I won’t give away the entire plot but the show basically centers around a music mogul who starts a business thanks to the help of his drug-dealing baby momma/wife who ends up in jail during his rise to success and the maturation of their two sons who are both performers. One son is a rapper and a veritable “thug” while the other is a singer-songwriter/producer/singer who happens to be gay, much to his homophobic black father’s disdain.

The show seems pretty entertaining, but when the second episode showed the star character throwing his gay son in the dumpster for being a gay child dressing up as a female and framed the “thug” son as anti Barrack Obama while making video clips about Obama being inauthentically black and a “sellout” I began to really feel the presence of Fox all over the show.

This stench, might I add, didn’t even have anything to do with the portrayal of the female characters. 1. A former drug-dealer/recently freed prisoner, 2. What appears to be a serious goldigger/opportunist, 3. A disrespected but faultlessly loyal receptionist “Mammy” type character and 4. The most dim-witted character television has ever seen (and not in a funny way, just in a sad way).

Since I think its unfair for me to pass an ultimate judgement on a show based on two episodes, I’m going to continue watching the reminder of the season but what do you think? Do you feel as if the show is somehow a little bit off? Are the representations problematic? Is Fox pushing a secret agenda by making a show that outwardly appeals to black people but ideologically appeals to its true demographic? Or am I reading too much into things as per usual? Let me know in the comments – I’d love to hear your opinions.

4 thoughts on “Are You Watching Empire? It’s an interesting one…

  1. I will say in all honesty that I actually like the show, mostly because of Terrence Howard and Taraji P Henson’s stellar acting, but also because it gives a kinda realistic insight to what it’s really like in the music industry for our people. Although I don’t really subscribe to all the stereotypes that Faux tries to stick us with, nonetheless there are some pretty nice songs and the whole dynamic of the characters just has me hooked

    Like

  2. Hey there! I do see your point about some stereotypical elements, but I dont find them as problematic because the show also contains some deeper elements as well like homophobia in the black community, privilege vs non-privilege, mental illness in the black community (the oldest son is bipolar), and the questioning of whether being a “ride-or-die” chick is a good thing. Or maybe I’m the one reading too much into it lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

